差價合約是複雜的工具,並且由於槓桿作用而具有快速虧損的高風險。 75% 的散戶投資者賬戶在與該提供商交易差價合約時虧損您應該考慮自己是否了解差價合約的運作方式,以及您是否有能力承擔損失資金的高風險。
US 繁體中文

什麽是差價合約交易,它是如何運作的?

差價合約(CFD)是交易股票和指數、商品、外彙和加密貨幣價格的一種流行方式,且無需擁有相關資産。了解你應該知道的關于交易差價合約的一切,以及如何使用差價合約來做多和做空資産

什麽是差價合約(CFD)?

差價合約(CFD)是金融業中一種流行的金融衍生品。 衍生品是有時間限制的合約,其價值來源于資産的市場表現。 本指南以簡單的術語解釋了您需要了解的有關于交易差價合約的所有信息。

那麽,差價合約在交易中意味著什麽?差價合約允許您對各種金融市場進行投機,包括股票、指數、商品、貨幣對和加密貨幣。您從不購買資産,而是根據其價格的上升或下降進行交易,通常是在一個較短的時間內。

差價合約是經紀商和交易員之間的合約,他們同意在合約開始和結束之間交換標的證券的價值差,通常不到一天。

差價合約(CFD)是:

  • 一種衍生品 - 您並不擁有標的資産
  • 您和您的經紀商之間的協議
  • 基于資産的價格變化
  • 在很短的時間內

什麽是差價合約?

差價合約(CFD)讓您只用交易價值的一小部分進行交易,這被稱為保證金交易,或杠杆交易。這允許交易員在他們的初始資本下建立更大的頭寸。因此,差價合約交易提供了對全球金融市場的市場敞口。

交易差價合約的主要好處之一是您可以對該資産的價格走勢進行雙向投機。您只需買入或賣出一份合約,這取決于你認為該資産的價格將上漲或下跌。您據此開立多頭或空頭交易。

但是,您應該始終注意,杠杆交易可以放大您的收益,但也可以增加您的損失。

 

差價合約交易如何運作?

當您建立差價合約(CFD)頭寸時,您將選擇您想買入或賣出的合約數量(交易規模)。您的利潤將隨著市場對你有利的每一點移動而上升。

買入

如果您認為某項資産的價格將會上漲,那麽您將建立一個多頭(買入)頭寸,如果資産價格按照你的預期上漲,您將獲利。

賣出

如果您認為某項資産的價格將會下跌,那麽您將建立一個空頭(賣出)頭寸,如果它的下跌與您的預測一致,您就會獲利。

觀看下面的簡短視頻,了解如何進行您的第一筆交易。

什麽是差價合約賬戶?

差價合約(CFD)賬戶使您能夠利用杠杆對各種標的資産的價格差進行交易。杠杆意味著您只投入交易所需金額的一小部分。這被稱為存款保證金。如果交易對您不利,您的賬戶還需要有足夠的資金來彌補任何潛在的損失。這叫做維持保證金。

在向你提供保證金交易之前,你的經紀商需要了解你的一些情況,因此他們要求你開設一個特別賬戶,以證明你的身份和彌補損失的能力。通常您可以在模擬賬戶中練習交易,但在你可以正常交易之前,你需要添加資金創建一個差價合約交易賬戶。

一些監管機構要求新客戶通過 "適當性 "測試。這通常意味著回答一些問題,以證明你了解保證金交易增加的風險 - 而不僅僅是潛在的回報。最好是在交易前徹底了解杠杆和保證金是如何運作的。

一些有經驗的交易員在同一經紀商處開立了一個以上的差價合約賬戶,以交易不同的資産或遵循其他交易策略。

 

差價合約交易中的杠杆是什麽?

當你在交易差價合約(CFD)時,你持有一個杠杆頭寸。這意味著您只需支付交易價值的一部分,然後從您的經紀商處借入剩余部分。

杠杆交易也被稱為保證金交易。 10% 的保證金意味著您只需存入您想要開倉的交易價值的 10%。其余部分由你的差價合約提供商承擔。

例如,如果你想下單購買價值 1000 美元的布倫特原油,而你的經紀商要求 10% 的保證金,你只需要 100 美元作為開倉交易的初始金額。

餅狀圖顯示,10% 的保證金是杠杆交易所需的金額

點差和傭金

在差價合約交易中,你會被提供兩個基于標的資産價值的價格:買入價(報價)和賣出價(出價)。

買入的價格將始終高于當前標的價值,而賣出價將始終較低。這些價格之間的差異被稱為差價合約點差。在 Capital.com,我們不對與我們進行的任何交易收取差價合約傭金。

  • 買入價(報價)是您開始或建立多頭頭寸的價格
  • 您在賣出時平倉

  • 賣出價(出價)是你建立空頭頭寸的價格

  • 您在買入時平倉

描述差價合約點差的時間線圖表

例如,如果你預計黃金價格會上漲,你可能想用差價合約在黃金上建立頭寸。想象一下,報價是1200美元/1205美元(這是買入/賣出點差),你買入100份黃金差價合約(做多)。持倉規模(合約價值)如下圖所示。

圖表顯示點差為5美元的黃金差價合約實例

想象一下,黃金的價格如期上漲,這筆交易的利潤如下圖所示。

圖表顯示交易黃金差價合約的利潤如何隨著黃金價格的上漲而增加

你應該投資多少?

差價合約交易通過提供低門檻使市場民主化。Capital.com的一些交易員會一次開倉價值超過100萬美元,但你可以交易的最低存款額僅為20美元(20歐元、20英鎊、100波蘭茲羅提)。

如果你使用電彙,最低存款額為250歐元。

您可以免費開立一個賬戶,並在模擬模式下進行練習。Capital.com是一個靈活的、可擴展的解決方案,適用于每個人,無論你的風險偏好、經驗或你有多少資金進行交易。

差價合約交易被認為是進入金融市場的一種具有成本效益的方式。對于某些經紀商,差價合約的成本包括交易各種金融資産的傭金,然而,Capital.com在開倉和平倉、存款或取款方面都不收取傭金。

差價合約的主要成本是點差 - 您交易時買入價和賣出價之間的差額。還有一項額外的費用,即隔夜費,如果交易持倉過夜,則收取隔夜費。

由于差價合約是杠杆産品,你可以用比購買傳統股票更低的初始保證金建立更大的頭寸。例如:

購買蘋果差價合約交易股票交易
賣出 / 買入價格135.05 / 135.10135.05 / 135.10
交易在135.10買入在135.10買入
交易規模100股100股進行交易所需的資金2,702美元 = 135.10美元買入價 x 100股 x 20%保證金 (所需保證金)13,510美元(100股,135.10美元)
收盤價在150賣出在150賣出
利潤1,490美元
((150 - 135.10) × 100股 = 1,490美元)
1,490美元
(15,000 - 13,510 = 1,490美元)

 

您可以使用差價合約交易哪些資産?

您可以交易股票、指數、商品、貨幣和加密貨幣的差價合約。 Capital.com 提供對這些類別的數千種不同差價合約資産的訪問,因此您只需點擊幾下鼠標,即可在一個地方交易世界上最受歡迎的市場。

描繪指數、股票、商品、外彙和加密貨幣的圖標可供選擇的差價合約選項在不斷增加。 2020 年,Capital.com 擴大了其産品範圍並增加了新市場,這將帶來許多新的有吸引力的交易機會。它們包括:專題指數 (抗新冠病毒指數, 加密貨幣指數),期貨 (美國原油, 英國布倫特石油), 加密貨幣 (艾達幣, 波卡幣), MOEX 和 SGX 交易的股票等。

差價合約交易實例:多頭、空頭和保證金交易

差價合約允許你投機于資産價格在任一方向的變動。這意味著你不僅可以在市場上漲(做多)時獲利,也可以在價格下跌(做空)時獲利。

  • 如果你相信市場會上漲,你就買入或 "做多"。

  • 如果你相信市場會下跌,你就賣出或 "做空"

當您開立差價合約頭寸時,您可以選擇您想要交易(買入或賣出)的合約數量,您的利潤將隨著市場走勢對您有利的每一點而增加。

做多例子

你認為蘋果公司的股票會升值,你想建立多頭差價合約頭寸以從這個機會中獲利。

你以每股160美元的價格購買了100份蘋果股票的差價合約,因此交易的總價值將是16,000美元。如果蘋果公司升值到170美元,你每股賺10美元,也就是1000美元的利潤。

下圖中的步驟是:

  1. 165 你開始關注市場

  2. 160 您看到價格下跌,並決定開始交易(購買差價合約)。

  3. 170 你看到差價合約的價格上漲,並關閉你的交易(賣出差價合約),獲利10美元

做空例子

例如,你認為蘋果價格會貶值,你想從中獲利。你可以開立差價合約空頭頭寸(稱為賣空),從市場下跌中獲利。

這次,假設你決定以每股170美元的價格賣出100份蘋果公司的差價合約,然後蘋果公司跌至每股160美元。你將獲利1,000美元,即每股10美元。

下圖中的步驟是:

  1. 165 你開始關注市場

  2. 170 您看到您的差價合約價格上漲,並開始交易(賣出差價合約),獲利 10 美元

  3. 160 您看到價格下跌,並決定關閉您的交易(購買差價合約)。

圖表顯示多頭差價合約和空頭差價合約可能帶來的利潤實例

保證金交易示例

什麽是保證金差價合約交易?杠杆交易也被稱為保證金交易。這是因為建立和維持頭寸所需的資金 - 稱為差價合約保證金 - 只是總交易規模的一部分。

在交易差價合約時,有兩種類型的保證金你應該熟悉。

  1. 存款保證金:這是開倉所需的金額

  2. 維持保證金:如果您的交易開始出現損失,而存款保證金或您賬戶中的額外資金無法彌補,則可能需要維持保證金。

所需保證金取決于你的經紀商所提供的交易,並且因資産類別和不同監管區域而異。

例如,你以135.10美元的價格買入100份蘋果的差價合約。你的初始支出是2,702美元(135.10美元的買入價 x 100股 x 20%保證金)。蘋果股票的價值升至 150美元,你決定在這個價值賣出 - 增加了14.9點。

你從這筆交易中獲得的利潤是1,490美元,計算方法是將增加的點數與購買的合同數量相乘(14.9點增加 x 100股 = 1,490美元)。

 

 差價合約交易股票交易
賣出 / 買入價格135.05 / 135.10135.05 / 135.10
交易在135.10買入在135.10買入
可用資金(余額)3,000美元3,000美元
杠杆率5:11:1
交易規模100股20股
進行交易所需的資金2,702美元 = $135.10 買入價 x 100股 x 20%保證金2,702美元 = 135.10美元買入價 x 20股
收盤價以150的價格賣出100股以150的價格賣出20股
利潤1,490美元
(14.9點增加 x 100股 = 1,490美元)
298美元
(14.9pt點增加 x 20股 = 298美元)

利潤和損失

一旦你在市場上發現了交易機會,並准備好做交易,請根據您認為市場的走勢開倉。從這一點開始,您的差價合約利潤或損失將與標的資産價格實時變動。

你將能夠監控你在平台內開設的所有頭寸,並在你想要時關閉頭寸。

利潤和損失很容易計算:你只需將你持有的合同數量乘以價格的差異。你的盈虧比,通常縮寫為P&L,可以用以下公式定義:

損益 = 差價合約的數量 x(收盤價 - 開盤價)

例如,如果你以每股400便士的價格購買1,000份Aviva的差價合約,並以每股450便士的價格出售,你的利潤將是500英鎊。如下圖所示。

圖表顯示以保證金買賣差價合約以賺取 500 美元的利潤

差價合約的合約期限是多久?

大多數差價合約交易沒有固定的到期日,這意味著差價合約的合約期限是無限的。一筆交易只有在向相反方向下單時才會被平倉,即你只能通過賣出這些差價合約來關閉100個白銀的差價合約的買入交易。

然而,如果您想在截止時間(通常是英國時間晚上10點,但對于國際市場可能有所不同)後繼續持有您的每日差價合約交易,您將被收取隔夜資金費用。Capital.com只對交易中的杠杆部分收取隔夜費 - 而不是對總交易規模。

使用差價合約進行風險管理的高級策略

差價合約是複雜的工具,交易它們會帶來高度的風險。一筆交易的價值可升可跌,因此如果市場走勢與你的預期相反,你可能會遭受損失。因此,差價合約的風險管理是你交易實踐中需要考慮和實施的關鍵點之一。

一旦你建立了賬戶並制定了交易計劃,重要的是要確定你願意承擔多少風險以制定適當的差價合約風險管理策略。如果您厭惡風險,那麽你將尋找具有較低風險回報率的機會(R-R) 比率。

例如,如果你正在尋找緩慢而穩定的增長,具有較高波動性的資産類別應該在你的投資組合中占很小的比例。強烈建議在所有資産類別中進行分散投資,以增加獲得有潛力的交易機會的可能性,同時也減輕風險。

止損和止盈

你應該考慮設置限價單以在給定的利潤水平上自動平倉,這樣你就不必經常觀察市場。止盈訂單可以減少你在獲利的交易上堅持太久而遭遇價格再次下跌的可能性。用你的頭腦而不是用你的心去交易

同樣,你可以設置止損來減輕差價合約的風險並限制你的潛在損失。止損是指如果資産價格低于您預先決定的准備好損失的金額,則頭寸自動平倉。

止損和限價是至關重要的風險管理工具,我們強烈建議你使用它們。

負余額保護和保證金平倉

如果您做了一筆交易,但它沒有按照您的預期發展,Capital.com 會保護您免于損失超過最初投資的金額。為了保持倉位,交易員必須滿足維持保證金的要求;保證金賬戶中需要保持最低資金價值,以應對交易時的任何信用風險。

維持在保證金賬戶中的價值是作為信貸的抵押品。如果你的風險敞口即將超過維持保證金的要求,Capital.com會通過 "追加保證金通知"通知你。這時你將需要補充你的余額或關閉你的一些頭寸。

如果您不采取行動並且達到平倉水平,您的頭寸將自動平倉。

有了負余額保護,你可以確保你的賬戶余額永遠不會降到零以下。如果市場突然對你不利,Capital.com平台可以關閉受影響的頭寸以保護你。

請記得在每筆交易中都要采用風險管理技術,在交易像是加密貨幣等具有高度波動曆史的資産的差價合約時,更要小心謹慎。考慮你是否了解差價合約的運作方式,以及你是否能夠承受差價合約交易帶來的風險

對沖

交易中的對沖是經驗豐富的交易者使用的重要風險管理策略。

對沖是一種用于減少損失的風險管理技術。你通過對沖來保護你的利潤,尤其是在不確定的時候。其理念是,如果一項投資對你不利,你的對沖頭寸就會對你有利。

差價合約對沖提供了一個保護你現有投資組合的機會,因為你可以通過投機價格下跌趨勢來賣空。

例如,你有一個現有的藍籌股組合。你想長期持有它們,但你覺得市場似乎即將出現短暫的下跌,你擔心這將影響你的投資組合的價值。

通過杠杆交易,你可以通過賣空市場以對沖這種下降趨勢的可能性。然後,如果市場下滑,你在投資組合上的損失可以被你利用差價合約進行空頭對沖的收益所抵消。如果市場上漲,那麽你將在對沖中損失,但在你的投資組合中獲得收益。

為什麽使用 Capital.com 進行交易?

作為一個技術先進的差價合約平台,提供極致的交易體驗,Capital.com有許多積極的功能,可以增加交易者的體驗。

  • 先進的人工智能技術是其核心: 類似于Facebook的動態消息,根據你的喜好為用戶提供個性化的獨特內容。如果交易員根據偏見做出決定,創新的動態消息會提供一系列材料,讓你回到正確的軌道上。神經網絡分析應用內行為並推薦視頻、文章和新聞來完善您的投資策略。
  • 保證金交易: 提供保證金交易,Capital.com讓你在差價合約的幫助下進入金融市場。
  • 差價交易: 當交易差價合約時,您不購買標的資産本身,這意味著您不受其約束。你只是對資産價格的上漲或下跌進行投機。在進行差價合約交易時,你采用的策略與你在傳統市場上的策略相同,但你可以用差價合約賣空。差價合約投資者可以做空或做多,設置止損和限損,並應用符合其目標的交易方案。
  • 全方位的交易分析: 基于浏覽器的平台允許交易員用流暢的技術指標來塑造自己的市場分析和預測。Capital.com提供實時市場更新和各種圖表格式,可在桌面、iOS和Android上使用。
  • 注重安全: Capital.com特別強調安全。它獲得了FCA、CySEC、ASIC、FSA和NBRB的許可,符合所有法規,並確保其客戶的數據安全是第一位。該公司允許您全天候 24/7 取款,並將交易員的資金存放在獨立的銀行賬戶中。

最常交易

+0.510%
+0.150%
-2.560%
-5.430%
-2.570%
分享文章

差價合約市場

還在尋找值得信賴的經紀商?

加入全球 620,000 多名交易者,選擇與 Capital.com 交易

1. 建立並驗證您的賬戶 2. 存入您的第一筆資金 3. 您已準備就緒。開始交易

Markets
English
Share Article

What is a contract for difference (CFD)?

A contract for difference (CFD) is a popular type of derivative in finance.  Derivatives are time-limited contracts that ‘derive’ their value from the market performance of an asset. This guide has everything you need to know about CFD trading explained in simple terms.

So what does CFD mean in trading? CFDs allow you to speculate on various financial markets, including stocks, indices, commodities, forex pairs, and cryptocurrencies. You never buy the assets, but trade on the rise or fall in their price, usually over a short period of time.

A CFD is a contract between a broker and a trader who agree to exchange the difference in value of an underlying security between the beginning and the end of the contract, often less than one day.

A contract for difference (CFD) is:

  • A derivative - you do not own the underlying asset
  • An agreement between you and your broker
  • Based on the change in price of the asset
  • Over a short time period

In this CFD trading guide

What are CFDs?

A contract for difference (CFD) lets you trade with just a fraction of the value of your trade, which is known as trading on margin, or leveraged trading. This allows traders to open larger positions given their initial capital. Therefore, CFD trading offers greater exposure to global financial markets.

One of the major benefits of CFD trading is that you can speculate on the asset’s price movements in either direction. You simply buy or sell a contract depending on whether you believe the asset’s price will go up or down. You open a long or a short trade accordingly.

However, you should always note that leverage trading can amplify your wins, but can also boost your losses.

Flow chart depicting the steps to start CFD trading

How does CFD trading work? 

When you open a contracts for difference (CFD) position you select the number of contracts (the trade size) you would like to buy or sell. Your profit will rise in line with each point the market moves in your favour. 

Buy

If you think the price of an asset will rise, then you would open a long (Buy) position and profit if the asset price rises in line with your expectations. 

Sell

If you think the price of an asset will fall then you would open a short (Sell) position and profit if it falls in line with your prediction.

Watch a short video below to learn how to make your first trade. 

What is a CFD account?

A contract for difference (CFD) account enables you to trade on the price difference of various underlying assets using leverage. Leverage means you put up only a fraction of the amount needed to trade. This is called deposit margin. You will also need to have enough in your account to cover any potential losses if trades go against you. This is called maintenance margin.

Your broker needs to know a little about you before they can offer you margin trading, so they ask you to set up a special account, proving your identity and ability to cover losses. Often you can practise trading in a demo account, but you will need to add funds to create a CFD trading account before you can trade properly.

Some regulators require that new customers pass an ‘appropriateness’ test. This often means answering some questions to demonstrate that you understand the increased risks – and not just the potential rewards – of trading on margin. It’s best to thoroughly educate yourself on how leverage and margin work before trading.

Some experienced traders set up more than one CFD account with the same broker to trade different assets or to follow alternative trading strategies.

What is a CFD account

What is leverage in CFD trading? 

When you are trading contracts for difference (CFDs), you hold a leveraged position. This means you only put down a part of the value of your trade and borrow the remainder from your broker. 

Leveraged trading is also referred to as trading on margin. A10% margin means that you have to deposit only 10% of the value of the trade you want to open. The rest is covered by your CFD provider. 

For example, if you want to place an order for $1,000 worth of Brent crude oil and your broker requires 10% of margin, you will need only $100 as the initial amount to open the trade.

Pie chart showing that a 10% margin is how much is required for leveraged trading

Spread and commission 

With CFD trading, you’re always offered two prices based on the value of the underlying instrument: the buy price (offer) and the sell price (bid). 

The price to buy will always be higher than the current underlying value and the sell price will always be lower. The difference between these prices is called the CFD spread. At Capital.com, we do not charge CFD commission on any trades made with us.

  • The Buy price (offer) is the price at which you start, or open, a long position

  • You close your position when you Sell

  • The Sell price (bid) is the price at which you open a short position

  • You close your position when you Buy

Timeline chart that depicts what CFD spread is

For example, if you expect the price of gold to increase you may want to open a position with a CFD on gold. Imagine the quoted price is $1,200/$1,205 (this is the bid/ask spread) and you buy 100 CFDs on gold (taking a long position). The size of the position taken (the contract value) is illustrated below.

Chart showing an example of a Gold CFD with a spread of $5

Now imagine that the price of gold increases as expected, the profit from this trade is illustrated below.

Chart showing an example of how the profit from trading gold CFDs can increase with the price increases of gold

How much should you invest?

CFD trading democratises the markets by providing a low entry level. Capital.com has traders who open positions worth more than $1m a time but the minimum deposit you can trade with is just $20 (€20, £20, 100PLN).

If you are using wire transfer the minimum deposit is €250.

You can open an account for free and practise in demo mode. Capital.com is a flexible and scalable solution for everyone, regardless of your risk appetite, experience or the amount of money you have to trade.

CFD trading is considered a cost-effective way of entering the financial markets. With some brokers, CFD costs include a commission for trading various financial assets, however, Capital.com doesn’t take commissions for opening and closing trades, for deposits or withdrawals. 

The major CFD cost is the spread – the difference between the buy and sell price at the time you trade. There is an additional charge of an overnight fee, which is taken if a trade is kept open overnight.

As contracts for difference are leveraged products, you can open much larger positions with a lower initial deposit than you need to buy traditional shares. For example:
 

Buying Apple CFD tradeShare trade
Sell / Buy Price135.05 / 135.10135.05 / 135.10
DealBuy at 135.10Buy at 135.10
Deal size 100 shares100 shares
Funds required to open a trade$ 2,702 = $135.10 Buy price x 100 shares x 20% margin (Margin required)$13,510 (100 shares at 135.10)
Close priceSell at 150Sell at 150
Profit$1,490
((150 - 135.10) x 100 shares = $1,490)
$1,490
(15,000 – 13,510 = $1,490)

What assets can you trade with CFDs?

You can trade CFDs on shares, indices, commodities, currencies, and cryptocurrencies. Capital.com provides access to thousands of different CFD assets across these classes, so you are only a few clicks away from trading the world’s most popular markets all in one place.

Icons depicting indices, shares, commodities, forex, and cryptocurrencies

The choice of available CFD options is constantly growing. In 2020, Capital.com significantly expanded its offering and added new markets, which will bring many new attractive trading opportunities. They include: thematic indices (Corona anti-virus index, Crypto index), futures (US crude oil, UK Brent oil), cryptocurrencies (Cardano, Polkadot), MOEX and SGX-traded stocks, etc. 

Example CFD trades: Long, short and margin trading

Contracts for difference allow you to speculate on assets’ price movements in either direction. This means you can profit not only when the market goes upwards (goes long), but also when it goes down (short) in price. 

  • If you believe the market will rise, you Buy or ‘go long’.

  • If you believe the market will fall, you Sell or ‘go short’.

When you open a CFD position, you select the number of contracts you would like to trade (buy or sell) and your profit will rise in line with each point the market moves in your favour. 

Going long example

You think Apple shares are going to appreciate and you want to open a long CFD position to profit from this opportunity. 

You purchase 100 CFDs on Apple shares at $160 a share, so the total value of the trade will be $16,000. If Apple appreciates to $170, you make $10 a share, which is a $1,000 profit. 

The steps in the illustration below are:

  1. 165  You start looking at the market

  2. 160 You see the price fall, and decide to open your trade (Buy the CFDs).

  3. 170 You see the price of your CFD rise, and close your trade (Sell the CFDs), making a profit of $10

Going short example

For example, you think that the Apple price will depreciate, and you want to profit from this movement. You can open a short CFD position (known as short-selling) and profit from a falling market. 

This time, let’s say, you decide to sell 100 CFDs on Apple at $170 per share, which then falls to $160 per share. You will have made a profit of $1,000, or $10 per share. 

The steps in the illustration below are:

  1. 165 You start looking at the market

  2. 170 You see the price of your CFD rise, and open your trade (Sell the CFDs), making a profit of $10

  3. 160 You see the price fall, and decide to close your trade (Buy the CFDs).

Graph showing an example of the profit possible from a long CFD and then a short CFD

Margin trading example

What is margin CFD trading? Leveraged trading is also referred to as margin trading. This is because the funds required to open and maintain a position – known as the CFD margin – are only a part of the total trade size. 

There are two types of margin you should be familiar with when trading CFDs. 

  1. Deposit margin: This Is the amount required to open a position

  2. Maintenance margin: This may be required if your trade starts making losses that are not covered by the deposit margin or additional funds held in your account. 

The margin required depends on the deal offered by your broker and varies between asset classes and within different regulated areas.

For example, you buy 100 CFDs on Apple at a price of $135.10. Your initial outlay is $2,702 ($135.10 Buy price x 100 shares x 20% margin). The value of Apple stock moves to 150, and you decide to sell at this value – a 14.9  point increase. 

The profit you have made from this trade is $1,490, calculated by multiplying the point increase with the number of contracts purchased (14.9pt increase x 100 shares = $1,490). 

 CFD tradeShare trade
Sell / Buy Price135.05 / 135.10135.05 / 135.10
DealBuy at 135.10Buy at 135.10
Funds available (Balance)$ 3,000$3,000
Leverage5:11:1
Deal size100 shares20 shares
Funds required to open a trade$ 2,702 = $135.10 Buy price x 100 shares x 20% margin$ 2,702 = $135.10 Buy price x 20 shares
Close priceSell 100 shares at 150Sell 20 shares at 150
Profit$1,490
(14.9pt increase x 100 shares = $1,490)
$298
(14.9pt increase x 20 shares = $298)

Profit and loss

Once you’ve spotted a trading opportunity in the market and you’re ready to trade, open a position in accordance with where you think the market will go. From this point, your CFD profits or losses will move in line with the underlying asset price in real time. 

You'll be able to monitor all positions that you have opened within the platform as well as close the positions when you want. 

Profit and loss are easily calculated: you just multiply the number of contracts you hold by the difference in price. Your profit to loss ratio, often abbreviated to P&L, can be defined using the following formula:

P&L = number of CFDs x (closing price – opening price)

For example, if you were to purchase 1,000 CFDs on Aviva at 400p per share and sell them at 450p per share your profit would be £500. This is illustrated below. 

Chart showing buying and selling CFDs on margin to make a $500 profit
 

What is the contract length of CFDs?

Most CFD trades have no fixed expiry date, meaning that the CFD contract length is unlimited. A trade is closed only when placed in the opposite direction, i.e. you can close a buy trade on 100 CFDs on silver only by selling these CFDs.

However, If you want to keep your daily CFD trade open after the cut-off time (usually 10pm UK time, but can vary for international markets), you will be charged an overnight funding fee. Capital.com only charges overnight fees on the leveraged portion of the trade – not on the total trade size.

Advanced strategies for risk management using CFDs

CFDs are complex instruments and trading them entails a high degree of risk. The value of a trade can rise and fall, so you may suffer losses if the market moves against your expectations. Therefore, CFD risk management is one of the crucial points to consider and implement in your trading practice.

Once you have your account set up and devised a trading plan, it is important to determine how much you are willing to risk to formulate an appropriate CFD risk management strategy. If you are risk-averse, then you will be looking for opportunities with lower risk-to-reward (R-R) ratios

For instance, if you are looking for slow and steady growth, asset classes with higher volatility should form a proportionally small part of your portfolio. It is strongly recommended to diversify across all asset classes to increase the likelihood of attractive trading opportunities, as well as to mitigate risk. 

Stops-loss and take-profit

You should consider setting up limit orders to automatically close out a position at a given profit level so you do not have to watch the market constantly. Take-profit orders reduce the likelihood of you holding on to a winning trade for too long and seeing the price fall again. Trade with your head and not your heart.

Similarly, you can place stop-losses to mitigate CFD risks and restrict your potential losses. A stop-loss is the point at which a position is automatically closed out if the price of the asset drops below the amount you decide, in advance, that you are prepared to lose. 

Stops and limits are crucial risk management tools and you are strongly advised to use them.

Negative balance protection and margin closeout 

If you make a trade and it is not going how you expected, Capital.com protects you from losing more than you first invested. In order to keep positions open, a trader must meet the maintenance margin requirement; the minimum value of funds needed to be kept in a margin account to cover any credit risks while trading. 

The value maintained in a margin account acts as collateral for credit. If your exposure is about to exceed the maintenance margin requirement, Capital.com notifies you via a ‘margin call’. This is where you will either need to top up your balance or close some of your positions. 

If you do not act and the closeout level is reached, your positions will be automatically closed. 

With negative balance protection, you can be sure that your account balance will never drop below zero. If a market suddenly moves against you, Capital.com platform can close the affected position to protect you.

Remember to employ risk management techniques in every trade and be even more cautious when trading CFDs on assets that have a history of being highly volatile like cryptocurrencies. Consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford the risks that come with CFD trading.

Hedging

Hedging in trading is a crucial risk management strategy used by experienced traders. 

A hedge is a risk management technique used to reduce losses. You hedge to protect your profit, especially in times of uncertainty. The idea is that if one investment goes against you, your hedge position goes in your favour.

CFD hedging provides an opportunity to protect your existing portfolio due to the fact that you can sell short by speculating on a price downtrend.

Line graph showing the relationship of an example share price and the share CFD position over time

For example, you have an existing portfolio of blue-chip shares. You want to hold them for a long time, but you feel as if the market is about to witness a short dip, and you are concerned about how this will affect the value of your portfolio.

With leveraged trading, you can short-sell the market in order to hedge against this downtrend possibility. Then, if the market slides, what you lose on your portfolio can be offset by the gain from your short hedge using CFDs. If the market rises, then you will lose on your hedge but gain on your portfolio.

Why trade with Capital.com?

As a technologically advanced CFD platform, offering the ultimate trading experience, Capital.com has many positive features, which can add to traders’ experience.

  • Advanced AI technology at its core: A Facebook-like News Feed provides users with personalised and unique content depending on your preferences. If a trader makes decisions based on biases, the innovative News Feed offers a range of materials to put you back on the right track. The neural network analyses in-app behaviour and recommends videos, articles and news to polish your investment strategy.
  • Trading on margin: Providing trading on margin (up to 200:1 leverage), Capital.com gives you access to financial markets with the help of CFDs.
  • Trading the difference: When trading CFDs, you don’t buy the underlying asset itself, meaning you are not tied to it. You only speculate on the rise or fall of the asset price. When CFD trading you employ the same strategies as you would in traditional markets, with the exception that you can short-sell with CFDs. A CFD investor can go short or long, set stop and limit losses and apply trading scenarios that align with their objectives.
  • All-round trading analysis: The browser-based platform allows traders to shape their own market analysis and forecasts with sleek technical indicators. Capital.com provides live market updates and various chart formats, available on desktop, iOS, and Android.
  • Focus on safety: Capital.com puts a special emphasis on safety. Licensed by the FCA, CySEC and NBRB, it complies with all regulations and ensures that its clients’ data security comes first. The company allows you to withdraw money 24/7 and keeps traders’ funds in segregated bank accounts.

Why trade with Capital.com

Share Article

CFD Markets

Still looking for a broker you can trust?


Join the 270,000+ traders worldwide that chose to trade with Capital.com

1. Create your account

2. Make your first deposit

3. You’re all set. Start trading