差價合約是複雜的工具,並且由於槓桿作用而具有快速虧損的高風險。 78.1% 的散戶投資者賬戶在與該提供商交易差價合約時虧損您應該考慮自己是否了解差價合約的運作方式,以及您是否有能力承擔損失資金的高風險。
US 繁體中文

差價合約

第 1 章:什麼是 CFD?

CFD是一種衍生工具,能夠讓投資者在非實際擁有標的股票或產品的情況下,參與股票、資產或其他金融產品的交易。

CFD 交易的運作方式非常簡單。比如,您看好布倫特原油的價格有上漲可能,於是買入布倫特原油價格 CFD(假設現價是每桶 50 美元)。合約到期時,CFD 賣家會向您支付價格的上漲部分。打個比方,油價升至每桶 55 美元,那麼賣家則需每份 CFD 向您支付 5 美元。

在具體介紹如何進行 CFD 交易之前,我們先來看看當前有哪些可交易的產品。

第 2 章:有哪些 CFD 可供交易?

這是一個好問題。 CFD廣泛適用於各種金融資產或產品,最常見的資產有:

商品——例如能源產品(石油、天然氣);工業金屬(銅、鋁);貴金屬(白銀、黃金)以及農產品(咖啡、小麥)等。

股票——全球大多股票指數中上市公司的股價都可以通過 CDF 交易。

指數——國內國際的股指水平均可進行交易,如倫敦的 FTSE 100 指數和紐約的標普 500 指數等。

貨幣——指的是匯率水平,例如美元/英鎊。通常以貨幣代碼來表示,如英鎊與美元表示為 GBP/USD,歐元與日元表示為 EUR/JPY 等。

投資品種不勝枚舉,還有其他金融產品(如交易所交易基金)也可用於 CFD 交易。簡單來說,任何擁有能夠反映其交易量的指標或價格水平的產品都可以進行 CFD 交易。

交易提示 1:了解您的市場

這是任何一位優秀交易者都應遵循的黃金法則。在投資或買入金融產品之前,了解所在市場尤為重要。交易 CFD 便意味着您必須了解該 CFD 的「標的」市場。您可以通過查看圖表(在彭博社、路透社、金融時報和 Google Finance 等網站免費提供),閱讀財經新聞來了解市場近期交易情況和發展動態。

第 3 章:CFD 交易如何運作?

假設您決定選擇 CFD 作為進入特定市場的最佳途徑,首先要做些什麼呢?

挑選值得信賴的交易商。許多金融公司都提供 CFD 服務,如今大部分交易都可以在線上交易平台中完成。

在開始交易前,您需要開立一個保證金賬戶。 「保證金」就像是您的交易存款。除此之外,券商還允許您使用一定數量的「槓桿」或融資。

槓桿的作用實際上就是讓您借券商的錢增加購買量,這種做法有助於提升您的投資能力(詳見下面練習 1),但同時也會帶來額外的風險。

買入 CFD 時,您實際上是基於對標的資產價格上漲或下跌的預測進行投機性交易。該操作被稱為建倉(Positioning)。如果您預測價格將上漲,則選擇「做多」。相反,如果您預測價格下跌,則選擇「做空」。

練習 1:槓桿的益處

讓我們來看看美國最熱門的股票之一 ——Apple Inc

您認為 Apple 股價會上漲,因此決定做多。

練習 2:善用止損

現在我們來看看指數交易,這是目前最普遍的 CFD 交易形式。

假設您一直在潛心研究,並認為 FTSE 100 指數本月表現良好,因此,您決定做多。

練習 3:做空

此處的唯一區別是,您預測某項資產價格會下跌。套用一句市場行話,您是多頭買入和空頭賣出。這一次,假設您賣出的是黃金。

 

CFD 交易課程圖示 1
CFD 交易課程圖示 2

建倉:經紀商於 9 月 9 日為您提供以 103 美元建倉的機會,您決定買入 100 份 CFD。如果是全額保證金,您需要存入 (100 x 103) = 10,300 美元,外加作為交易成本的佣金,可能為 0.1%,即 10.30 美元。這其中可能還會有其他費用,例如隔夜費。在買入之前,請務必仔細查看交易相關的全部費用。

如上所述,如果採用全額,您需要支付的保證金數額巨大。但如果券商同意只收 10% 的保證金,則您只需存入 1,030 美元。如果是 5%,則只需存入 515 美元。

平倉:9 月 14 日,您決定獲利平倉,因為股價已漲至 111.77 美元,即每份獲利 8.77 美元,總利潤是 877 美元。當然,您在平倉時也需要支付佣金。

交易提示 2:關注新聞報導

在投資任何單隻股票時,您都需要密切關注媒體上有關該公司的最新動態,例如公司利潤季報、年度股東大會、新產品開發或董事會變更等。上述消息以及其他更多信息,均可作為未來股價表現的評判參考。

 

CFD 交易課程圖示 3

建倉:經紀商於 9 月 27 日為您提供以 6,807.7 美元建倉的機會,您決定買入 10 份 CFD,如果是全額保證金,您需要支付 68,077 美元。如果是 5%,則需要支付 (10 x 6,807.7 x 0.005) = 340.39 美元。

CFD 交易課程圖示 4

平倉:第二天,FTSE 100 上漲 41.7 點,達到 6,849.4 美元。您的 10 份 CFD 現在價值 68,494 美元,可獲利 (68,494 - 68,077) = 417 美元。

警告:您選擇做多,當然希望股價上漲。但如果指數實際下跌同樣幅度,即跌至 6,766 美元,則您的保證金將不足以彌補損失。此時,券商會向您發出「追加保證金通知」,這意味着您要麼補繳保證金,要麼平倉出局並支付虧損的金額。

為避免過大的保證金壓力,您可以設定「止損」,這意味着您可以指定自動平倉的價格水平,尤其是當行情走勢相反時。

設定止損倉位:您仍然以 5% 的保證金買入 10 份 CFD,建倉價位為 6807.7 美元。您需要支付的保證金仍是 340.39 美元(同上)。但是這一次,您對 FTSE 設置了 6,773 止損位,即把潛在虧損控制在 340 美元(恰好位於保證金範圍內),並在觸發此價位時平倉退場。

交易提示 3:減少損失

切勿因為直覺認為某筆交易會逆勢反轉而繼續持有這筆已經虧損的交易。千萬不要向虧損交易增加保證金。沒有人願意犯錯,但如果錯了,請坦然接受並尋找其它機會。

 

CFD 交易課程圖示 5

建倉:您於 9 月 26 日選擇賣出 10 份 Comex 黃金期貨 CFD,價格為 1,339 美元。繳納 5% 的保證金則需要支付 (10 x 1339 x 0.005) = 66.95 美元。

CFD 交易課程圖示 6

平倉:您持倉至 10 月 4 日,價格跌至 1,267 美元。這筆交易很划算,您已賺得 (13,390 - 12,670) = 720 美元。

交易提示 4

上述各項練習所涉及的資產類別各不相同。交易時請牢記這一點:勿過於堅守某一種交易。多元化配置投資組合,避免因一次失誤而導致血本無歸。了解所面臨的風險,切勿冒超出承受能力的風險。

測試自己

CFD 可以交易下列哪些資產:

指數
股票
商品
所有答案都正確
Previous lesson

為什麼購買衍生工具?

參加最後的測驗

金融測驗 14 q問題

查找更多?

computer
教育中心

你會在這裡找到你需要知道的一切;從操作指南到投資策略。

figure
computer
交易指南

Our in-depth guides will provide you some insights into the wide variety of financial instruments, their unique features and how to use them in your trading portfolio.

交易術語

0

這是我們詞彙表中的術語數量。您是否了解 IPO 或 ETF 中的差價合約?用我們的定義詞彙表了解更多。

顯示所有

還在尋找值得信賴的經紀商?

加入全球 610,000 多名交易者,選擇與 Capital.com 交易

1. 建立並驗證您的賬戶 2. 存入您的第一筆資金 3. 您已準備就緒。開始交易

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. 78.1% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider. You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.
US English

Contract for difference

Chapter 1: What is a CFD? 

A CFD is a derivative that allows you to trade the price of a stock, asset or other financial product without actually having to own the underlying stock or product. 

Trading CFDs works very simply: you decide to buy a CFD based on the price of Brent Crude oil (let's say it's current level is $50 a barrel) because you expect Brent to increase in price. At the termination of the contract, the seller of the CFD will pay you the amount it has gone up by. For example, if it has risen to $55 a barrel, the seller pays you $5 per CFD that you own.

We'll look at how you trade in more detail later on – but let's first run through the products on offer.

Chapter 2: What are my choices?

Good question. CFDs can be offered for an incredible variety of financial assets or products. The most common ones include:

Commodities – such as energy products: oil, gas; industrial metals: copper, aluminium; precious metals: silver, gold; agricultural products: coffee, wheat and so on.

Shares – many individual share prices from companies listed on stock indices around the world are likely to be on offer.

Indices – stock index levels can be traded for domestic and foreign indicators such as the FTSE 100 in London or the S&P 500 in New York.

Currencies – these are exchange rate levels, such as the UK pound against the US dollar: usually these are indicated by currency codes, so the pound vs dollar is expressed as GBP/USD, euro vs yen is EUR/JPY and so on.

The list goes on. Many other financial products, such as (ETF), can also be offered as CFDs. Quite simply, as long as something has an indicator or price level that responds to trading volume, it can be linked to a CFD.

Trading tip 1: Know your market

It’s a rule that any good trader would live by. Before you spend any money on investments or financial products, learn something of the market you're getting into. For CFDs, this means you must get to know the ‘underlying’ market of the CFD you're buying. Look at the charts (these are freely available on websites like Bloomberg, Reuters, FT.com, Google Finance, etc.), read the financial news, find out about the market's recent history and what makes it tick.

Chapter 3: How does CFD trading work?

Say you've decided the best way into a particular market is through CFDs. What's the first thing to do?

Seek a dealer you can trust. There are many financial firms offering CFD services and you can do a lot these days using an online trading platform.

Before you start you'll have to set up a margin account. ‘Margin’ is like a deposit on your trades. On top of this, brokers will allow a certain amount of ‘leverage’ – or loaned financing. 

With leverage, you are essentially borrowing money from the broker for additional purchases. This will help boost your investment capacity, as will become clear below (see Exercise 1), but it comes with some added risk.

When buying a CFD, you are speculating on whether the price of an asset will rise or fall. This is called positioning. If you’re backing a price rise, you are taking a ‘long’ position. Conversely, betting on a fall in the price is called taking a ‘short’ position.

Exercise 1. The benefits of leverage

Let's take a look at one of the most popular shares in the US – Apple Inc.

You believe the shares will rise in price, so decide to take a long position.

Exercise 2. Using the stop loss

Now let’s look at index trading, one of the most popular forms of CFD trading.

Let’s say you've been doing your research, and this has been a good month so far for the FTSE. You decide on a long position.

Exercise 3. Taking a short position

The only difference here is that you are now speculating on an asset price going down. In market terminology, you buy long and you sell short. This time, let’s sell gold.

 

CFD Trading Course illustration 1
CFD Trading Course illustration 2

Opening your position: Your broker offers you an opening position of $103 on September 9 and you decide to buy 100 CFDs. At 100% margin, you'd have to deposit (100 x $103) = $10,300, plus a commission charge for transaction costs – maybe 0.1% ($10.30). There may be other costs involved, such as overnight financing charges. Remember to look carefully at the full costs of your transactions before you enter.

As you can see at 100%, the margin you’d have to provide is eye-wateringly high. If your broker instead accepts a 10% margin, you'd deposit only $1,030. A 5% margin would be $515.

Closing your position: On September 14 you decide to close your position and take profits as the shares have risen in price to $111.77. That's $8.77 per share, or a total profit of $877. You may also get charged commission on closing out your position.

Trading tip 2: What's in the news?

When investing in any individual share, keep up with any developments of that company in the press – quarterly profit statements, AGMs, critical reaction to new product developments or boardroom changes. All these things, and more, can be a guide to future share price performance.

 

CFD Trading Course illustration 3

Opening your position: Your broker offers you an opening position of $6,807.7 on September 27 and you decide to buy 10 CFDs, which at 100% margin would cost a whopping $68,070. You pay 5 per cent margin (10 x 6,807.7 x 0.005) = $340.39

CFD Trading Course illustration 4

Closing your position: The next day, the FTSE 100 has risen 41.7 points to 6,849.4. Your 10 CFDs are now worth $68,494, giving you a profit of (68,494 - 68,070) = $424.

Warning: You’ve taken a long position, hoping that prices will rise. But if the index actually falls by the same amount – to 6,766 – your margin will not be enough cover the losses. The broker will then issue a ‘margin call’. This means you either have to put up additional margin, or close the position and pay him any excess. 

To avoid putting too much pressure on your margin, you can set up a ‘stop loss’. This means that you can set a level at which your position automatically closes if the trade goes the wrong way.

Setting up your position with a stop loss: You’re still buying 10 CFDs at 5% margin on an opening position of 6,807.7. The margin you need to provide remains $340.39, as above. But this time, you include a stop loss at 6,773 on the FTSE which would halt any potential losses at $340 – just inside your margin – and close out the trade. 

Trading tip 3: Cut your losses

Don’t hold on to a losing trade because you have a gut feeling it will turn around. And NEVER add margin to a losing trade. No one likes being wrong – but just accept it and move on.

 

CFD Trading Course illustration 5

Opening your position: You opt to sell 10 Comex gold futures CFDs offered on September 26 at $1,339. Posting 5% per cent margin will cost (10 x 1339 x 0.005) = $66.95.

CFD Trading Course illustration 6

Closing your position: You hold on to your position until October 4, when the price has dropped to $1,267. You’ve traded well – you have gained ($13,390 - $12,670) = $720.

Trading tip 4

Each exercise above deals with a different asset class, and you should bear this in mind when trading. Don’t expose yourself too much to single trades. By diversifying your portfolio, no single mistake or event is likely to wipe you out. Understand the risks you are taking, and never risk more than you can afford.

Test yourself

CFDs offer the ability to trade the following assets:

Shares
Commodities
Indices
All answers provided are correct
Previous lesson

Why buy derivatives?

Take the final quiz

Financial Quiz 14 questions

Looking for more?

computer
Education Hub

You’ll find everything you need to know here; from how-to guides to investment strategies.

figure
computer
Trading Guides

Our in-depth guides will provide you some insights into the wide variety of financial instruments, their unique features and how to use them in your trading portfolio.

Trading Glossary

1988

That's the number of terms in our glossary.


Do you know your CFDs from your IPOs or ETFs? Remove the mystery with our definitions glossary.

See all

Term of the day

Corporate Actions

Corporate actions are events initiated by a publicly traded company that might have a direct or indirect impact on shareholders. For example, an announcement of dividends to be paid on a company's shares could well have a direct financial...

Read more
The most common word

Financial Times Stock Exchange (Footsie)

The FTSE 100 definition is the same as the definition of the Financial Times Stock Exchange 100 Index, with the FTSE 100, or Footsie, being shortened names (or slang names) for the stock market index . The index comprises the top 100...

Read more

Still looking for a broker you can trust?

Join the 610,000+ traders worldwide that chose to trade with Capital.com

1. Create & verify your account 2. Make your first deposit 3. You’re all set. Start trading