差價合約是複雜的工具,並且由於槓桿作用而具有快速虧損的高風險。 75% 的散戶投資者賬戶在與該提供商交易差價合約時虧損您應該考慮自己是否了解差價合約的運作方式,以及您是否有能力承擔損失資金的高風險。
US 繁體中文

什麼是指數?

第 1 章:簡介

不論是電視新聞報導還是財經專欄,常常會出現股市指數一詞。那麼,到底什麼是指數?它又為何如此重要?

您是否曾無數次聽到專家提及倫敦 FTSE 100 指數、美國標普 500 指數、道瓊斯工業平均指數、香港恆生指數、德國 DAX 指數、法國 CAC 指數泛歐證券交易所指數及其他指數

之所以如此頻繁地被提及,是因為這些指數是許多重大事件的晴雨表和指示燈,如:

  • 股票市場信心
  • 企業經營信心
  • 經濟健康狀況
  • 股票投資健康狀況。

基本邏輯在於,當投資者(例如養老基金、保險公司、投資基金和個人投資者)看好股市行情時,他們會大量買入股票,這時股價的整體水平趨於上升;

如果投資者不看好股市,則股價趨於下跌。這是因為投資者紛紛拋售股票,換成現金或轉作其他投資。

這種觀點沒錯,但它僅僅只是對指數的簡單看法。實際上,許多其他因素也會影響股市行為。例如:利率變化、國家預算、政治事件、貿易和經濟公告等。這就是對市場未來走向難以準確預測的原因。

第 2 章:指數是如何編制的?

指數(也稱為「股指」)由公共證券交易所精心挑選的一組上市公司的股票編制而成。

舉例來說,倫敦金融時報 100 指數是根據在倫敦證券交易所上市的市值最大的一百家公司股票編制而成。市值的計算方法為各公司發行的總股數乘以每股的價格。

這些大型公司也稱為「藍籌股」公司。指數水平在計算時應反映各公司總體的價格變化情況,單位以點數或百分比表示。

其他指數也採用了類似的方法。標普 500 指數即涵蓋了在紐約證券交易所或納斯達克上市的 500 家規模最大的公司。道瓊斯工業平均指數(簡稱「道指」)則是由在紐約證券交易所或納斯達克上市的 30 家最大公司的股票組成。

這些公司會隨著自身市值的上升或下跌而被納入或移除指數名單。交易所會定期對指數成分公司進行審查,確保其符合指數成員公司的資格。另外,倫敦證券交易所還發布了 FTSE 250FTSE 350 指數等中小企業指數,這些指數的編制方式大同小異。

第 3 章:如何投資指數?

投資者在投資指數時,可以選擇買入「跟蹤型」指數基金(即持有與指數成分股完全相同的股票)。

投資基金(包括共同基金)負責管理這一過程並代表其投資者進行投資。基金管理者還會幫投資者收集並分配(或再投資)相應股票所派發的股息,並從中收取一定的費用。

還有一種日益受追捧的指數投資形式,那就是交易型開放式指數基金 (ETF)。 ETF 基金的管理費相對較低,買賣過程也更加簡單便捷。

此外,還有眾多指數衍生產品,您可以購買相應股指(例如 FTSE 100 和/或標普 500)的期權或期貨。從本質上來講,這些工具要么是用於對沖股指水平的波動,要么是猜測股指水平的未來走向,具體情況由您的投資目標而定。

測試自己

下列哪一項不是指數?

泛歐交易所
瓊道斯
富時 100
標普 500
Previous lesson

什麼是商品?

下一課

什麼是外匯?

查找更多?

computer
教育中心

你會在這裡找到你需要知道的一切;從操作指南到投資策略。

figure
computer
交易指南

Our in-depth guides will provide you some insights into the wide variety of financial instruments, their unique features and how to use them in your trading portfolio.

交易術語

0

這是我們詞彙表中的術語數量。您是否了解 IPO 或 ETF 中的差價合約?用我們的定義詞彙表了解更多。

顯示所有

還在尋找值得信賴的經紀商?

加入全球 630,000 多名交易者,選擇與 Capital.com 交易

1. 建立並驗證您的賬戶 2. 存入您的第一筆資金 3. 您已準備就緒。開始交易

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. 78.1% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider. You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.
US English

What are indices?

Chapter 1: Intro

You’ll often hear about stock market indices on TV news reports and in the financial pages. So what are they – and why do they matter?

How many times have you heard experts refer to the FTSE 100, S&P 500, the Dow Jones Industrial Average, the Hang Seng, DAX, CAC or Euronext or other indices?

The reason why they are mentioned so often is that they act as an indicator for many important things. These include (among other things):

  • Stock market confidence
  • Business confidence
  • The health of the economy
  • The health of our investments in stocks and shares.

The basic rationale is that if there is confidence, investors (such as pension funds, insurance companies, investment funds and private investors) will buy shares and the overall level of stock market prices will tend to rise.

If they don’t have confidence, then prices will tend to fall – as investors sell their stocks and either hold on to their cash or invest in something else.

This is true – but it’s also a slightly simplistic view of the indices' meaning. In reality, many other factors will influence stock market behaviour – for example, interest rate changes, national budgets, political events, trade and economic performance announcements and so on. And that’s why it is so difficult to know which way ‘the market’ will go next.

Chapter 2: How are indices compiled?

Indices (also called ‘indexes’) are formed by selecting a group of companies, whose shares are listed on a public stock exchange.

So, for example, the FTSE 100 is compiled from the 100 largest companies listed on the London Stock Exchange measured by the market capitalisation (or ‘market cap’). That is, the number of shares they’ve issued, multiplied by the price of those shares.

These large companies are also referred to as ‘blue chip’ companies. The level of an index is calculated by reflecting the aggregate price changes in a number of points and it is also expressed as a percentage.

Other indices employ a similar approach. The S&P 500 includes the 500 largest companies listed on the New York Stock Exchange or the NASDAQ. Dow Jones Industrial Average (‘The Dow’) is based on the 30 largest stocks listed on the same exchanges.

Companies join and are dropped from an index as their market cap increases or falls. The constituent index companies are reviewed periodically to ensure that they qualify to be included in an index. Remember that the London Stock Exchange also has smaller companies indices such as the FTSE 250 or FTSE 350. These are compiled in a similar fashion.

Chapter 3: How to invest?

When investors want to invest in an index, they can buy into a (‘tracker’) fund that holds the same stocks in proportion to the way the index is compiled.

Investment funds, including mutual funds, manage this process and invest on behalf of their investors. They also collect the dividends paid on the shares for the investors and distribute them (or reinvest them). And they take a fee for doing this.

An increasingly popular form of index investment, are stock market listed exchange traded funds (ETFs). The charges levied by the managers of ETFs are much lower and the process of buying into them or selling out is much quicker and easier.

There are number of derivative products that ‘derive’ from indices – and you can buy options or futures on stock market indices such as the FTSE 100 and or S&P 500. Essentially these are tools for either hedging against fluctuations in the level of the indices, or betting on whether they will rise or fall, depending upon what you’re looking to achieve with your investment.

Test yourself

Which of the following is not an index?

Euronext
FTSE 100
Jow Dones
S&P 500
Previous lesson

What are commodities?

Next lesson

What is forex?

Looking for more?

computer
Education Hub

You’ll find everything you need to know here; from how-to guides to investment strategies.

figure
computer
Trading Guides

Our in-depth guides will provide you some insights into the wide variety of financial instruments, their unique features and how to use them in your trading portfolio.

Trading Glossary

1992

That's the number of terms in our glossary.


Do you know your CFDs from your IPOs or ETFs? Remove the mystery with our definitions glossary.

See all

Term of the day

Technical Analysis

The technical analysis definition is a trading tool and method of analysing financial markets and choosing investment strategies. Along with fundamental analysis , it is one of the two main ways to analyse markets and involves looking...

Read more
The most common word

Currency

A currency is a form of money, usually issued by the public authorities in a particular jurisdiction. It performs three functions – it is a unit of account, a store of value and a medium of exchange. It is able to do so because firms...

Read more

Still looking for a broker you can trust?

Join the 580.000+ traders worldwide that chose to trade with Capital.com

1. Create & verify your account 2. Make your first deposit 3. You’re all set. Start trading