差價合約是複雜的工具,並且由於槓桿作用而具有快速虧損的高風險。 78.1% 的散戶投資者賬戶在與該提供商交易差價合約時虧損您應該考慮自己是否了解差價合約的運作方式,以及您是否有能力承擔損失資金的高風險。
US 简体中文

什么是信用违约掉期?

信用违约掉期 (CDS) 与已在资本市场上发行债券的企业或政府部门相关,但并不由这些单位出售。

CDS 的卖家(银行或其他金融机构)从买家接收定期付款(类似于保险费),用于应对债券发行人到期无法偿付并因此违约的情况。

其运作方式如下:假设您持有 Delta 公司发行的五年期债券,面值 1,000 美元,息票利息为每年 100 美元。可是您又担心 Delta 公司可能出现债券违约,为保险起见,购买了 Beta 银行的 CDS 合约。该银行每年收取您 20 美元,直到 Delta 公司债券到期并全额偿付或是到该公司发生违约情形。

如果债券到期,您可以兑现那 1,000 美元的面值并赚取 500 美元利息,其中需要减去已付给 Beta 银行的 CDS 合约金 100 美元(每年 20 美元,共 5 年)。

我们反过来假设一下 Delta 公司在债券发行三年后违约的情形。根据 CDS 条款,Beta 银行应向您支付债券面值以及剩余两年的利息,同时 CDS 合约终止。

您无需持有 Delta 公司的债券即可买入该债券的 CDS 合约。假设您对 Delta 公司的信誉心存疑虑,认为该公司财务状况不佳,很可能出现违约情况,于是您购买了 Beta 银行的 CDS 合约,届时无论您是否持有该债券,银行仍需向您支付该债券的面值。这些交易有时被称为“裸信贷违约掉期”。

谁是赢家?

如果债券到期,则 CDS 发行人会获益:示例中的 Beta 银行在五年内向您收取了 100 美元,而您则需要牺牲一部分债券收益。

如果债券违约,则 CDS 发行人会亏损:您会获得债券违约前每年 100 美元的债券收益,Beta 银行需向您支付债券的全部面值 1,000 美元及剩余利息,即 200 美元(假设债券还有两年到期)。如果是裸信贷违约掉期,那么您只有在债券违约的情况下才会获益。

测试题

如果债券到期,以下谁是赢家?

都是输家
投资者
CDS 发行人
债券发行公司
Previous lesson

期权

下一主题

什么是资产支持证券

查找更多?

computer
教育中心

您会在这里找到你需要知道的一切;从操作指南到投资策略。

figure
computer
交易指南

Our in-depth guides will provide you some insights into the wide variety of financial instruments, their unique features and how to use them in your trading portfolio.

交易术语

98

这是我们词汇表中的术语数量。您是否了解 IPO 或 ETF 中的差价合约?用我们的定义词汇表了解更多。

显示全部

每日一词

资本

资本是包含企业金融资产以及机械、建筑和其他设施的固定投资的表述,但不包括将用于产品制造的任何材料的价值。 您曾在哪里听过资本?...

阅读更多
最常见的词

长头寸(多仓)

长头寸在股市中是指投资者根据股价上升预期而购买股票并长期持有,是 短头寸 的对立面。 您曾在哪里听过长头寸(多仓)?...

阅读更多

还在找一位您可以信任的经纪商吗?

加入成为全球580,000万多名交易者的一份子,选择利用Capital.com进行交易吧。

1. 创建和验证您的账户 2. 进行存款 3. 找到适合您的交易

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. 84% of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs with this provider. You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

What are credit default swaps?

A credit default swap (or CDS) is linked to, but not sold by, a corporation or a government that has issued bonds on the capital markets.

The seller of the CDS, a bank or other financial institution, receives regular payments – like an insurance premium – from the buyer to cover the possibility that the bond issuer will fail to meet repayments and thereby default.

Here's how it works: You own a five-year bond issued by Delta Corp which has a par value of $1,000 with a coupon that pays interest of $100 a year. You seek protection – fearing Delta Corp may default on the bond – and so buy a CDS from Beta Bank. The bank charges you $20 a year until either Delta Corp’s bond matures and repays you in full, or until Delta Corp defaults.

If the bond reaches maturity, you’ve redeemed the $1,000 par value and received $500 in interest payments, minus the $100 (five annual $20 payments) you paid to Beta Bank for the CDS. 

But let's say Delta Corp defaults three years after the bond is issued. Under the terms of your CDS Beta Bank pays you the par value of the bond plus the remaining two years of interest payments and the CDS contract is terminated.

You don’t need to own Delta Corp’s bond to buy the CDS that references it. You might be speculating on the creditworthiness of Delta Corp: you believe the company is in a weak financial position and that default is likely, so you buy the CDS from Beta Bank who will still pay the face value of the bond regardless of whether you own it. These transactions are sometimes called ‘naked CDS’.

Who wins?

The CDS issuer wins if the bond reaches maturity – Beta Bank in the example would receive $100 from you over five years, and you cede some of your overall profit on the bond. 

The CDS issuer loses if the bond defaults: you’ve received $100-a-year yield off the bond up to the point of default, and Beta Bank pays you the $1,000 full face value of your bond plus the remaining interest payments – $200 if there was two years left until maturity. In the case of naked CDS, you win only if the bond goes into default.

Test yourself

Who wins if the bond reaches maturity?

The company that has issued the bond
The CDS issuer
Everyone loses
The investor
Previous lesson

What are options?

Next lesson

What are asset-backed securities

Looking for more?

computer
Education Hub

You’ll find everything you need to know here; from how-to guides to investment strategies.

figure
computer
Trading Guides

Our in-depth guides will provide you some insights into the wide variety of financial instruments, their unique features and how to use them in your trading portfolio.

Trading Glossary

1992

That's the number of terms in our glossary.


Do you know your CFDs from your IPOs or ETFs? Remove the mystery with our definitions glossary.

See all

Term of the day

Bonds

Bonds are an important asset class in financial markets that are often used in a diversified portfolio. Here we take a look at the bond definition in more detail, the mechanism behind how they work and what bonds are used for by investors and...

Read more
The most common word

Currency

A currency is a form of money, usually issued by the public authorities in a particular jurisdiction. It performs three functions – it is a unit of account, a store of value and a medium of exchange. It is able to do so because firms...

Read more

Still looking for a broker you can trust?

Join the 535.000+ traders worldwide that chose to trade with Capital.com

1. Create & verify your account 2. Make your first deposit 3. You’re all set. Start trading